1. Home
  2. Gallery
  3. How to use Gallery folders

How to use Gallery folders

The Gallery folders are only available on SketchBook for Mobile 

Folders in the mobile version of SketchBookAt the top of the thumbnail view, you will see Untitled. Tap this to access folders, organize your sketches, delete sketches or folders, or restore mistakenly deleted sketches.

1. Storage location
2. Trash folder
3. Folder contents
4. Selection
5. Add
6. Import legacy data
7. Show/Hide Folders
8. Create Folder

 

If you are an Android user, have recently updated to the latest version of SketchBook, and it looks like your work is gone, it’s not. See How to import SketchBook files from an older version into the latest version SketchBook for Android.

Accessing the folder view

In the Gallery, along the top of the toolbar, tap the folder name. This opens to the folders, showing the thumbnail and all sketches in that folder. Along the top of the screen are all your folders. When you select a folder, the contents of it appear below the folders. This is also where the Trash folder is located.

Switch views by selecting the folder name, located at the top of the toolbar.

Pinch the canvas to switch to a small thumbnail view with all the folders.

Creating a folder

Tap Create or Add a folder in the mobile version of SketchBook to create a folder for your sketches.

How to create or add a folder in the mobile version of SketchBook

Renaming a folder

To rename a folder, tap the folder name and enter the new name.

Adding sketches to a folder

To add sketches to a folder, tap Accept the selection in the mobile version of SketchBook to enter Selection mode, tap all the sketches you want added to the folder, tap-hold a sketch, then drag onto a folder.

Adding a selection to a folder in the mobile version of SketchBook

Deleting a folder

For Android users

When you delete a folder it and all its contents are permanently deleted. There is no way to recover the deleted content.

  1. To delete a folder, tap-hold the folder until Delete appears in the toolbar below.

    Select and hold to delete a folder
  2. Tap Delete icon in the mobile version of SketchBook to delete the folder.
  3. Tap Yes to delete or Cancel not to.

For iOS users

  1. To delete a folder, tap-hold the folder until you see it enlarge slightly.
  2. Lift your finger. A Delete icon in the mobile version of SketchBook Delete Album option appears just below the folder area.

    Delete Folder option in the SketchBook Gallery.
  3. Tap Delete icon in the mobile version of SketchBook Delete Album to delete the selected folder. A warning appears to ensure you don’t delete something accidentally.

    Warning
  4. Tap Yes to delete the folder.

Deleting sketches within a folder

  1. To delete one or more sketches, tap Accept the selection in the mobile version of SketchBook, then the sketch or sketches from the Gallery or from within a folder.
  2. Tap Export in the mobile version of SketchBook and select Delete icon in the mobile version of SketchBook Delete. The sketch appears in the Trash folder.

The Trash folder

The Trash folder in the mobile version of SketchBook1. Storage location
2. Trash folder
3. Restore selected sketch
4. Deleting options
5. Settings
6. Show/Hide Folders
7. Add folder
8. Folder contents

Confirming moving a sketch to the Trash folder in the mobile version of SketchBook

The Trash folder houses all sketches you’ve initially deleted from the Gallery. When you delete a sketch, this is where is goes. However, if you ever mistakenly delete something, you can get it back with Restore selected sketch.

 

  • When you tap the Trash folder, thumbnails of its content appear. At this point, you can do any of the following:
  • Tap a sketch,Remove from trash icon, then Restore selected sketch to remove the sketch from Trash and return it to where it was before.
  • Tap a sketch, Delete icon in the mobile version of SketchBook, then Delete selected sketch to permanently delete it from Trash and the app.
  • Tap a sketch, Delete icon in the mobile version of SketchBook, then Empty trash icon Empty Trash to permanently delete the contents of Trash and the app.
  • Tap Settings icon to set how many files are kept in Trash at any one time. If the number of sketches exceeds this number, the first sketches will be permanently deleted.

Setting where your images are saved on iOS

When in the folder view, in the upper left corner, is the Local option.

Pinch the canvas to switch to a small thumbnail view with all the folders.

This is the default location for storing your images. The reason for this is that since iPads, iPhones, and iPods don’t save content to a folder outside of apps. If the app is deleted or corrupted, your images are lost.

There is an alternative, iCloud storage. This way, if you save your sketches to the cloud and anything happens to the app, such as it being deleted, your sketches are safe. See How to use iCloud for how to set up this option and set it as your default.

Updated on May 9, 2018

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Translate »