1. Home
  2. Layers
  3. How to clear layers

How to clear layers

Want to remove all content from a layer? Use Clear to clear layers and get rid of the content.

Clearing a layer in SketchBook for Desktop

To clear a layer, do any of the following:

  • in the menu bar, select Edit > Clear.
  • for Pro subscribers, select the layer and tap Clear icon in SketchBook or tap Layer menu icon in SketchBook and select Clear.

Clear layers in SketchBook for Desktop from the Layer Editor

Clearing an area from the current layer

Clearing an area from the current layer

Not available to Free users

  1. Select Tools icon and flick toward Rectangular selection icon in SketchBook or Lasso selection icon in SketchBook, or press the M key, then drag over the area you want to clear.
  2. Either flick toward Clear icon or press the Delete key to remove the selected area.

For Free users,

  1. Select Tools icon and flick toward Lasso selection icon in SketchBook, then drag over the area you want to clear.
  2. Either flick toward Clear icon or press the Delete key to remove the selected area.

Clearing a layer in SketchBook for Mobile

  1. In the Layer Editor, tap a layer to select it.
  2. Double-tap the layer you want to clear to access the Layer menu.
  3. In the Layer menu, tap Clear icon Clear.

If you have already selected the layer to be cleared, you can double-tap the top left corner of your canvas to access Clear icon.

Clearing a layer in SketchBook for Windows 10 (Pro)

Not available to Free users

For Windows 10 users with the free version, when you have only one layer and you can’t delete it, clearing the content may be your only option. Clear removes all content from a layer.

In the Layer Editor, tap Layer menu icon and select Clear.

If you don’t want to open the Layer menu, you can tap Clear icon in SketchBook.

Updated on October 12, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Translate »